Creative Solutions?

Old Aug 31st 2010, 12:47 am
Just Joined

Wits_End is a name known to allWits_End is a name known to allWits_End is a name known to allWits_End is a name known to allWits_End is a name known to allWits_End is a name known to allWits_End is a name known to allWits_End is a name known to allWits_End is a name known to allWits_End is a name known to allWits_End is a name known to all
Default Creative Solutions?

I’m a long time poster but I am here under a new name while I ask for personal help on the slight off chance that my employer is reading. Here is my situation:

I have been in the US for approx 6yrs on an L1-A visa, renewed twice. My wife has an L-2 with an EAD although she no longer requires the ability to work because she is a happy and contented fulltime mother to my 2yr old daughter (US citizen). Child number two is expected in Nov. I have a LLB degree.

I work for a large blue-chip company. We are going through a number of organizational changes and while it is yet to be made official, the writing is very much on the wall for my position. I work in sales in a very specialized and niche market and have a book of business that would secure me work in the US relatively easily. Having been out the UK market for 6yrs, and with the state of my sector in the UK, I am not as optimistic with regard my employability at home. Financial considerations aside, there are also medical reasons for my desire to stay where I am.

My manager is refusing to back a green card application until the final 3 months of my L-Visa. I fear that he is delusional as neither of us may be employed by then. This places considerable risk to my family's livelihood and I want to regain control of my future. I intend to speak to an attorney concerning my options, or those of a future US employer, with regard extending my stay in the US. Prior to that appointment I’m hoping for a little guidance.