Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

wanting to teach in the US

wanting to teach in the US

Old Apr 14th 2005, 1:30 pm
Forum Regular

brownin is on a distinguished road
Question wanting to teach in the US

I have been excepted on a PGCE course for this September and I am planning to move to the US July 2006 on a fiancee visa. I was wondering:

[1] Whether or not I have to complete my qualifying year in the UK to teach in the US?

[2] With all of the red tape that has to be completed, is it feasible to want to start work in 2006/07 academic year?

Any comments would be appreciated
Old Apr 27th 2005, 12:58 am
Ben
BE Enthusiast

Ben has a reputation beyond reputeBen has a reputation beyond reputeBen has a reputation beyond reputeBen has a reputation beyond reputeBen has a reputation beyond reputeBen has a reputation beyond reputeBen has a reputation beyond reputeBen has a reputation beyond reputeBen has a reputation beyond reputeBen has a reputation beyond reputeBen has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: wanting to teach in the US

A lot will depend on which state you are moving to, and whether you will be in an area that need teachers, or a subject that is in short supply.
Old May 3rd 2005, 12:46 am
Forum Regular

Originally Posted by Ben
A lot will depend on which state you are moving to, and whether you will be in an area that need teachers, or a subject that is in short supply.
I am moving to NY and I will be qualified to teach Business or Economics at a high school level.

I am still not sure whether or not I can do my qualifying year there (and it be recognised in the UK, if I ever decide to come back). I have spoken to the NY education department foreign teachers and they informed me that I would be able to work there, as all techers are in demand for High school (but I would be working in NYC, as this is where they have a desperate shortage).
Old May 21st 2005, 1:03 pm
Forum Regular