Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

Uk Teacher teaching in the US

Uk Teacher teaching in the US

Old Mar 5th 2005, 8:31 am
Just Joined

dhitch is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Uk Teacher teaching in the US

My girlfriend (US) and i are intending to move to the US in July-August. I have applied for Certification in Washington and had my PGCE (in secondary science) and BSc verified by WES. Has anyone any experience of moving to the US (esp Washinton State) What makes things more complicated is that i don't have a permanent uk residence as i am teaching in an international school in the czech rep. Also if anyone has advice on planning such a move it would be greatfully be received,

Darren
Old Mar 7th 2005, 8:34 pm
Forum Regular

half-pint is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Uk Teacher teaching in the US

Originally Posted by dhitch
My girlfriend (US) and i are intending to move to the US in July-August. I have applied for Certification in Washington and had my PGCE (in secondary science) and BSc verified by WES. Has anyone any experience of moving to the US (esp Washinton State) What makes things more complicated is that i don't have a permanent uk residence as i am teaching in an international school in the czech rep. Also if anyone has advice on planning such a move it would be greatfully be received,

Darren
I am wondering how you will be applying to move here? Are you hoping to land a job where you will be sponsored by a US employer? Or are you applying for a K1 fiance visa?

Do you want to work in public schools or independent schools? You could try carney, sandhoe and associates.