Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

Primary teacher going loopy!

Primary teacher going loopy!

Old Oct 12th 2007, 10:18 pm
Forum Regular

apple3 has a brilliant futureapple3 has a brilliant futureapple3 has a brilliant futureapple3 has a brilliant futureapple3 has a brilliant futureapple3 has a brilliant futureapple3 has a brilliant future
Lightbulb Primary teacher going loopy!

Hello

I've been in Australia for two months now and want to get a job - supply would be fine! I just want to work!

The impression I had coming over here was that teachers were badly needed. I applied for registration in QLD as soon as I got my police check and visa two months ago. I know, having spoken to an agent, that I have every document required submitted. To date, my application hasn't even been looked at and it will be another month before that happens Since applying, I've heard that actually there are TOO MANY teachers in Queensland and there aren't enough positions for them.

I'm going to Melbourne city for now but I have considered going to WA but is it all a myth about the shortage? Maybe not a myth but is it exagerated? Also, my husband is a rigger/scaffolder who is earning an excellent wage at the moment and doesn't want to take a pay cut.

I don't mind if I work in state, private or Catholic schools. Do you have to be registered to work in all of these types of school?

What should I do? I'm going mad

Last edited by apple3; Oct 12th 2007 at 10:20 pm. Reason: ommitted a thought
Old Oct 13th 2007, 11:40 am
Just Joined

confusedpom is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Primary teacher going loopy!

Originally Posted by apple3
Hello

I've been in Australia for two months now and want to get a job - supply would be fine! I just want to work!