Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

Oz state with most available teaching jobs?

Oz state with most available teaching jobs?

Old Feb 22nd 2007, 10:38 am
Forum Regular

kancell will become famous soon enoughkancell will become famous soon enough
Default Oz state with most available teaching jobs?

hi,

ive been reading up on teaching in oz for my girlfriend. im aware there is a lot of red tape and records/qualifications to be provided but i dont envisage supplying all this and the lengthy process to be the largest problem.

my main worry is that no matter which state we look for info on teaching jobs, the general consensus is that she wont get a job. its been advised that in some instances she will even struggle to get relief teaching work.

for instance in SA ive been informed she would likely only be offered work out in the sticks, and nothing remotely close to adelaide. also teaching jobs in sunshine coast and most of QLD are apparently as rare as hens teeth.

she has a scottish 4 year Bed Hons degree at 1st class and with distinction in teaching. By the time we hope to emmigrate she will have 4 years full time post degree experience, so is reasonably well qualified.

could anyone please advise which states offer a better chance for an outsider to get a permanant or even just regualr relief teaching work? if she struggles to get decent work for a significant period of time i think it might curtail any oz adventure we hope for!
Old Feb 22nd 2007, 6:44 pm
WS

WS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond reputeWS has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Oz state with most available teaching jobs?