Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

Does the UK PGCE transfer to the US?

Does the UK PGCE transfer to the US?

Old Oct 24th 2013, 11:16 am
Forum Regular

AimeeKat has a spectacular aura aboutAimeeKat has a spectacular aura aboutAimeeKat has a spectacular aura about
Default Does the UK PGCE transfer to the US?

Hi all,

I have a degree in Psychology (BA) from America. Once I moved to the UK 10 years ago, I decided I wanted to teach. So, I did my Post Graduate Cert in Education (PGCE) to teach Further Education (college. not university) here in the UK.

My question is. Does anyone know if my PGCE will transfer to the US? I would like to teach in the states but unsure I will be qualified. How can I find out?

Thanks in advance!
Old Jun 16th 2014, 9:51 pm
Just Joined

Dan_hals is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Does the UK PGCE transfer to the US?

it does, just need to get the docs attested by the state/area you are gonna teach.
Old Jun 24th 2014, 4:00 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

scot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond repute

I think these things vary by State. Do ALL states accept a British PGCE ?
Old Oct 11th 2014, 3:18 pm
Just Joined

zebapt is an unknown quantity at this point

Same here, how do I contact a state? What organisation? Any clue for Austin, Texas? Thanks
Old Oct 12th 2014, 4:21 pm
Just Joined

You have to do the 'hard miles' and speak to people directly.