Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

Advice on getting recognised as a teacher for Oz/NZ

Advice on getting recognised as a teacher for Oz/NZ

Old Sep 6th 2006, 11:20 pm
Forum Regular

Muncles will become famous soon enoughMuncles will become famous soon enough
Default Advice on getting recognised as a teacher for Oz/NZ

Hi All,

Another set of questions. Got a confusing reply from NZQA, regarding recognition of GTP training and recognition by NZQA.

I have contacted a number of Universities regarding this problem. I have asked if I can be reassessed by an assessor from the Uni and get a PGCE but this is a no go. They empathise with my problem but say it would set a president. I can't be put on a PGCE course, because I already have QTS status and it is therefore not in their interests to give me a place on their course.

I am now looking at doing part (modules equivalent to 1 full year) of a Masters of Education to see if this will be recognised by NOOSR. I have emailed NOOSR, but as yet no reply from them.

The other thought I had was going to Oz on a student visa and studying their equivalent of a PGCE. Coming back and then submitting my application. What I need to know is if this would work? I have almost 2 years full time experience as a fully qualified teacher in the UK.

Would teaching prior to gaining the Oz qualification be admissible on my work experience for my Skilled PR visa application? This is the only possible stumbling block I can see with this route as I have the funds to enable me to do this.

Would welcome any advice.

Thanks in advance,
Old Sep 7th 2006, 12:03 am
BE Enthusiast