Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

457 prelim quals assessment - how long?

457 prelim quals assessment - how long?

Old Dec 29th 2008, 10:15 am
Just Joined

louisew is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 457 prelim quals assessment - how long?

Hi all.
I sent off all the required info nearly a month ago now and have heard nothing back yet. Does anybody know the usual timescale? I know this has probably been answered lots before on here and I've had a trawl but can find nothing. Am worried that, somehow, my email and copious attachments have been lost on the ether! Should I send an email asking if they have received my last email or will this make me seem like more of a nag than I actually am and scupper my chances?
Old Dec 29th 2008, 11:36 am
Forum Regular

leeh36 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: 457 prelim quals assessment - how long?

took 2 weeks for mine. The christmas period will slow it down a bit though.

A reminder email would not hurt, i sent out and it did not go against my checks. Go for it!

Lee
Old Dec 30th 2008, 8:43 am
Just Joined

Thanks, Lee. Will send them a new email and see what happens. Two weeks is very quick! Is that when you heard about your interview or were there other steps to go through?
Old Dec 31st 2008, 10:33 am
Just Joined

Am gutted! Have just had a reply saying that they cannot process my application until a workforce review for 2010 has been completed but are happy to hang on to it til then. Apparently this should be done within the next couple of months. Does anybody have a clue of the likelihood of primary teachers still being needed? From what I've read there is a shortage, but has the gap been plugged already? Not sure what to do now - I don't like all this waiting and feel I should be doing something! Any responses would be much appreciated - even if it's only to say stop feeling sorry for yourself, you silly moo x