Reload this Page >

What are my employment prospects in Spain

What are my employment prospects in Spain

Old Apr 24th 2008, 4:13 pm
Just Joined

Longtonian is an unknown quantity at this point
Default What are my employment prospects in Spain

Hello everyone

My wife and I are considering moving to Spain to the Costa Blanca region. Realisitically, what are our chances of getting jobs out there? I speak pretty good Spanish (I am a Spanish teacher) but my wife doesn't speak any yet. I have read all sorts of pessimistic stories about long working hours and low pay. Is anybody happily employed out there ?
Old Apr 24th 2008, 5:06 pm
BE Forum Addict

SueG has a reputation beyond reputeSueG has a reputation beyond reputeSueG has a reputation beyond reputeSueG has a reputation beyond reputeSueG has a reputation beyond reputeSueG has a reputation beyond reputeSueG has a reputation beyond reputeSueG has a reputation beyond reputeSueG has a reputation beyond reputeSueG has a reputation beyond reputeSueG has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: What are my employment prospects in Spain

Well hubby and I live in south Costa Blanca and I am gainfully employed in an English speaking lawyers firm at a realistic salary for Spain (BUT in England I was earning over twice what I earn here). Yes it is cheaper to live over here but I have noticed that things especially food and petrol are creeping up and we have only been here since Jan 2007. I have virtually non existent Spanish - we were going to classes but an awful lot of people speak English (even if you try and speak Spanish to them!). Hubby has yet to find work of any sort (he is 57) and looking to the long term we might have to return to England as presently we are breaking into capital every month although we are desperate not to.

As you speak fluent Spanish I am sure that you will find work a lot easier than most.