Reload this Page >

Tax Question About Working In Spain

Tax Question About Working In Spain

Old Mar 15th 2016, 5:09 pm
Just Joined

Tomhgriff1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Tax Question About Working In Spain

Hi all,

I hope its ok to ask tax questions. I realise this isnt actual tax advice and just your opinions but i need a place to start.

I am 32, single and run a business ( i am a self employed financial trader) which allows me to work remotely and would like to make the most of that advantage and live in some sunnier places. My family had a house in Spain growing up so I always feel an affinity to Spain and would like to make a move.

looking at the headline tax rates however Spain seems very expensive tax wise which is a turn off as I already find UK pretty high tax for where it is spent (at least i wouldnt be looking to move somewhere that makes my tax bill any higher).

So what is it like paying tax in Spain?
Can i keep a company registered in the UK yet be a Spanish resident? Where would I pay tax?
I assume i would still pay UK corporation tax if my company is registered there but if I send my salary and dividends to my Spanish bank account would I be taxed by Spain for that money?

To be honest it doesnt matter too much where my residency/business is located legally, just wanted to know which is the most financially savvy way to do it?

I have asked my accountants but they say they cant advise me on foreign countries and how to set it up, so am a bit stuck for information.

Many thanks
Tom
Old Mar 15th 2016, 5:31 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace