Sky+ box

Old Aug 28th 2017, 7:08 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 5
llorgerona is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Sky+ box

if i take my sky+ box to spain, catalonia, will i still be able to watch the recordings i have made on it without getting a spanish sky subscription
llorgerona is offline  
Old Aug 28th 2017, 10:13 pm
  #2  
Started off with nothing
 
missile's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,853
missile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky+ box

If you still have a valid UK card you can watch recordings. There is no such thing as a Spanish Sky subscription.
missile is offline  
Old Aug 29th 2017, 6:23 am
  #3  
Was called something else
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,935
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky+ box

To watch and make recordings, you need a signal from the satellite, and use the Sky UK viewing card that is paired to that Sky+ box.
If you are moving to Spain, best keep your SKy UK subscription active, but move the account to a UK address that you can control (friend or family), as Sky UK will not move the account to a non UK address.
Sky do not sell their service to Spain. In Spain there is Movistar+, which is the SPanish satellite / pay TV service.
The Guy is offline  
Old Feb 15th 2018, 7:40 pm
  #4  
Last resort... format c:/
 
astera's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Singapore to Surfers Paradise to... Tenerife!
Posts: 1,425
astera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky+ box

Will the Freesat box made by Humax - available from any Argos store - work just as well in Spain as Sky's equipment in terms of picking up freeview channels?

Or does Sky's hardware fare better in areas with a weak sygnal compared to the Humax range?
astera is offline  
Old Feb 16th 2018, 6:19 am
  #5  
Was called something else
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,935
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky+ box

Originally Posted by astera View Post
Will the Freesat box made by Humax - available from any Argos store - work just as well in Spain as Sky's equipment in terms of picking up freeview channels?

Or does Sky's hardware fare better in areas with a weak sygnal compared to the Humax range?
Yes a Freesat box will work in Spain
As long as you have the correct sized dish to receive the signals for where you are in Spain.

You will not get Freeview, which is UK TV via a TV aerial, in Spain.
But most of the channels on Freeview are available subscription free on satellite via Freesat or a Sky box with no card.

Have found little difference in Freesat and Sky HD boxes reception wise.
The Guy is offline  
Old Feb 16th 2018, 3:40 pm
  #6  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 127
Hornets_Nest will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Sky+ box

If you don't want to reply on a Satellite Dish the new NOW TV box is excellent as is the current Amazon Fire Box - I have both and there is a lot of content.
Hornets_Nest is offline  
Old Feb 19th 2018, 4:01 pm
  #7  
Last resort... format c:/
 
astera's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Singapore to Surfers Paradise to... Tenerife!
Posts: 1,425
astera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond reputeastera has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky+ box

Originally Posted by The Guy View Post
Have found little difference in Freesat and Sky HD boxes reception wise.
Thanks, regarding the Freesat box will there be any issues if I never connect it to wifi (since it will be used abroad anyway)?

It doesn't need to connect to the internet to activate or to work properly, does it?
astera is offline  
Old Feb 20th 2018, 6:15 am
  #8  
Was called something else
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,935
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky+ box

It only needs to be connected to the internet (via a VPN or smart dns), for access to the on demand / catch up content.
LIve TV is direct from the satellite, and it will work fine without an internet connection for these
The Guy is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.