Residency

Old Jul 8th 2020, 10:28 pm
Just Joined

Chappers18 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Residency

Hi, newbie here.
I’m after some advice from you long timers please.
I have been traveling back and forth u.k. to spain for 2 years now. my partner (not married, i think it makes a difference) has spanish residency and works/lives in our spanish home full time. I am a british nurse and so travel back and forth every 2 weeks.
I am at the end of the month making the move full time and returning a lot less to the U.K. for work( every 6 weeks or so, staying for maybe 2).
My question is do i need (potentially should i already have) residency or some sort of acknowledgment that i am in spain for a substantial amount of time in a year?
I don’t even have an NIE at present as it’s always been on the list of to dos and hasn’t caused an issue so hasn’t been a priority. My partner is on the padron for our home but i am not named obviously. I do drive occasionally but will be driving a lot more in spain and so do i need to change my license? i worry that due to me being back and forth i will never quite be in the right category for each country.
So basically as a british person resident but not working in spain what documentation do i need to sorting? we get so much mixed advice of the wrongs and rights it’s hard to know for sure what we need to do.
Within the next 2 years we will be looking at buying a home in spain and so we need to ensure that we are on paper good candidates for mortgages etc.
Thanks in advance.
Old Jul 9th 2020, 6:38 am
BE Forum Addict