Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

registering for Now Tv box

registering for Now Tv box

Old Mar 9th 2018, 11:39 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 165
Manclass is an unknown quantity at this point
Default registering for Now Tv box

To anybody that's using a NOW TV box can you please help me ?


I'm trying to register online for a Now TV box.. I'm being asked to subscribe to one of their packages , I was under the impression as I only want catch up TV I didn't have to have a monthly subscription ? If I subscribe and then cancel the subscription what if anything will I be able to receive ?


Thank you
Manclass is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2018, 1:02 pm
  #2  
Started off with nothing
 
missile's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,788
missile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: registering for Now Tv box

You get the free to air and catch up channels with no subscription.

I subscribe to the entertainment package. Very good value if you buy at discount from eBay.
missile is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2018, 1:32 pm
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 165
Manclass is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: registering for Now Tv box

Thanks Missile.. Thanks what I thought and what Id been told, but there's no option for that when registering , I seem to have to subscribe, maybe I do that then cancel the subscription ,?
Manclass is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2018, 1:47 pm
  #4  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: May 2017
Posts: 254
cermignano is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: registering for Now Tv box

Do you not just have to go into a shop and buy the free to view box then register to upgrade for catch-up etc later? That appears to be what my neighbour did
cermignano is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2018, 1:56 pm
  #5  
MODERATOR
 
Fred James's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Granada Costa
Posts: 10,629
Fred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: registering for Now Tv box

When I bought mine some time ago, it came with a 3 month sub to the entertainment package. If you have a Sky online MySky ID you can use that, even if you no longer have a Sky sub.

If you do buy a sub then when you cancel it you just lose the Sky content, nothing else. Incidentally when you cancel they will probably offer you another 3 months at half price which is actually a pretty good deal.

Last edited by Fred James; Mar 9th 2018 at 2:00 pm.
Fred James is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2018, 2:11 pm
  #6  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 165
Manclass is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: registering for Now Tv box

Thank you Fred, That's what I thought but wasn't sure ....
Manclass is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2018, 4:43 pm
  #7  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,851
bobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: registering for Now Tv box

I have been using a now TV box for a few years now. I can't remember how I actually did it but I did set up an account without any packages so pay nothing for itv BBC and channel 4 and 5 catch up. I find it really good picture quality is excellent and I rarely get buffering on it.
One thing when I set my account I noticed a charge for a package, so I phoned and spoke with an advisor who immediately refunded the payment and told me to go into my account settings and ensure I had ticked the only allow payments with authority, which I did and as I say never had an issue since. You can buy new boxes on eBay for under £10 I think the sellers sell on the free passes making money and just want did of the boxes that's how I got mine.
bobd22 is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2018, 6:21 pm
  #8  
MODERATOR
 
Fred James's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Granada Costa
Posts: 10,629
Fred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: registering for Now Tv box

They have made some improvements since you and I got our boxes. You can now get a NowTV usb stick so no probs with a power supply etc.
Fred James is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2018, 6:30 pm
  #9  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,851
bobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond reputebobd22 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: registering for Now Tv box

Originally Posted by Fred James View Post
They have made some improvements since you and I got our boxes. You can now get a NowTV usb stick so no probs with a power supply etc.
I wasn't aware of the stick Fred as you say heater and no wires. Mind you I am very happy with the box I have the later black one. I can't work out why I get so little buffering with that versus an android box. I use both
bobd22 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.