Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Just wanted to say ¡Hola!

Just wanted to say ¡Hola!

Old Jul 19th 2012, 4:58 pm
Just Joined

Just is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Just wanted to say ¡Hola!

Hi All, just wanted to say hello and introduce myself as although I'm not technically going to be an expat for possibly a couple of years (that's the plan anyway) I wanted to start to get a feel for what to expect. Here's my background;

I've always had a soft-spot for Spain since an early age and coincidentally married a Spanish girl (who's been in England for 14 years now!) last year in Andalucia. We go there a lot as you'd imagine and we've been talking about moving there for a few years. Finally, we've plucked up the courage/insanity and are just signing for a new duplex in Jávea/Xàbia at what we think is a bargain price for a great place to live.

We're in Cheshire at the minute and have our first offspring on the way, so we want to make our move in a couple of years, renting to holiday makers in the summer months in the meantime to help pay the mortgage etc. My wife's family is mainly in Jávea and Andalucia so Jávea makes sense for us, plus we love the beach and countryside around it.

We're hoping to be able to release enough equity and savings in a couple of years time to go out mortgage free, taking some pressure of us and hopefully allowing us to enjoy our new sunny environment and home to the max as well as give our kid(s) more of our time.

This is the bit I expect to be the trickiest part, getting enough money in to pay the bills/pension/savings/children and allow us to step off the treadmill we're both on here in Blighty. I'm hoping that as my wife is bilingual and I'm getting somewhere there we can find work even if it's off our own backs, plus we know quite a lot of people with her family being there, old friends of hers etc - in fact we know our future neighbours already!