Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

An Introduction

An Introduction

Old Jan 15th 2010, 11:44 pm
Just Joined

sammy21 is on a distinguished road
Default An Introduction

I guess i was inspired by Splatts post and after reading the many posts about life here in Spain, the good and bad i thought id share my story

I came here nearly 5 years ago...for love....oh how cliche, after a 2 years long distance "relationship". I saw an opportunity for work and thought i could give it a go for 6 months. I took a quick TEFL course as a back up as
Im a dance teacher and choreographer and saw a little gap in the market.
I started teaching english but hated it. Probably manged around 3 months

so 4.5 years on...the mans dumped me, but the work has only gotten bigger and better.
Living in Madrid has been an experience. Luckily with dance, speaking the local langugage was not necessary initially and my first classes were in English. But of course i was in the mind set to learn, i remember being in tears in the street with frustration when i was told the flat i wanted to see for rent was gone......but i didn´t understand him.
I think it took me around 3 yrs before the lightbulb in my head went on and i could understand spanish tv (i hated studying though) and conversations properly. I actually enjoyed blocking out some of the inane conversations people around would have (generally shouting).i was proud of myself when i had my first argument with a taxi driver!

I obviously had to learn the language as im working with only spanish people and you know its been fun learning. I can teach totally in Spanish now but i do like to mix it up as its funnier for the students. sometimes i even forget the words in english....its a very strange feeling.

I have a group of American and other english speaking friends whom i love to hang out with. Its not really an ex-pat thing as such. Just a time to relax and not think about my grammar!