Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Economy Chat - Is now really the time to buy?

Economy Chat - Is now really the time to buy?

Old Jun 17th 2012, 9:02 am
Just Joined

willoween is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Economy Chat - Is now really the time to buy?

I started a thread looking for a home to buy in Almeria and I thought it would be interesting to find out what other people think about the euro situation and whether now is a good time to buy property.

I am not a market expert by any means but my family have been in the building trade for a few generations so I have a fair idea of how the housing market responds to economic mealtdowns, we actually went totally bust in the early 90s when Thatcher messed with things, we had 5 detached houses in Wales near completion when the market collapsed, the buyers had paid deposits and chosen their own kitchens and bathrooms, overnight interest rates rocketed and the buyers pulled out, we eventually crawled our way back in to business but it took years.

Talking to a friend who has interests in stocks and shares he was talking of naked shares and very big moves within the market. I had sold my shares and was wondering where to place the money, "not back in the stock market" he said, "buy silver and gold coins, 70% silver and 30% gold". He also said that countries such as China will be backing their currency with silver and gold.

The way I see it in the coming months, countries that cannot back up their currency with silver and gold will quite rightly find that currency worthless.

The Euro is devistating for European countries, the likes of Germany have sucked in all of the Euros making them rich and powerful and devistating many areas.