Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Discussion about Mental Health moved from Ciudad Quesada thread.

Discussion about Mental Health moved from Ciudad Quesada thread.

Old Aug 17th 2013, 5:08 pm
HBG
Lost in BE Cyberspace

HBG has a reputation beyond reputeHBG has a reputation beyond reputeHBG has a reputation beyond reputeHBG has a reputation beyond reputeHBG has a reputation beyond reputeHBG has a reputation beyond reputeHBG has a reputation beyond reputeHBG has a reputation beyond reputeHBG has a reputation beyond reputeHBG has a reputation beyond reputeHBG has a reputation beyond repute
Default Discussion about Mental Health moved from Ciudad Quesada thread.

I'm not an expert on anything. but I've lived in Spain for many years and volunteer to work for local charities who support expats. We come across a multitude of expat problems on a daily basis, and we've seen a vast increase of late probably due to the high numbers that arrived around 2006, just before the crash, and are now desperate to leave as their money has run out and they can't sell their houses at any price.

Maybe someone can advise on this one: a recent arrival has developed a severe mental illness, doesn't speak a word of Spanish and we want to get him home. He refuses to get on an aeroplane or even into a car. Without breaking the law, we can't see a way to get him the treatment he desperately needs back in the UK. The Spanish system, good as it is, can't help him.

Last edited by Sue; Aug 18th 2013 at 1:24 pm. Reason: Posts moved from another thread.
Old Aug 17th 2013, 5:16 pm
Started off with nothing