Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Advice on relocating to Spain (Sotogrande)

Advice on relocating to Spain (Sotogrande)

Old Apr 17th 2019, 3:09 pm
Just Joined

AllieBB is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Advice on relocating to Spain (Sotogrande)

Hello All,
We are a family of 4 currently living in Ireland (kids are 2 and 6). My DH has just got a job in Gibraltar, and we are deciding whether or not he should take it and relocate the family to Spain (for 1 - 2 years). I currently work remotely and travel to the UK once or twice a month, so I would continue to do that for as long as I can manage it or the job lasts (I am an IT Contractor). He has tried to get work in Ireland and hasn't been able to get anything so far, and it is a good job in Gibraltar.

We are thinking of Sotogrande, as there is an International school (assuming my son will get in and we can afford it!?) and there are bilingual nurseries. Also, I think we would prefer Spain to Gibraltar and it is commutable for him. He worked there briefly some years ago (before he met me) and used to park in Spain and walk across to avoid the queues.. not sure how far his new office will be, and if that is doable!?

Things I'm concerned about:
Is Sotogrande a good option to base ourselves out of?
Is there much to do there? With kids.. and in the evenings?
More than likely (if we go ahead with it) we will move just as the Summer kicks in, so I am concerned about how hot it will get and how the kids will manage?
What are property's like in Sotogrande, roughly how much would we need for a 3/4 bed? Is there much to choose from?
Has anyone on here done a similar move, any advice?

Not sure if it's worth uprooting the family, the other options are he keeps on looking for something locally, or he commutes.. none of which are ideal!! We can afford for him not to take it at the moment, but eventually he will have to get something..