Sky TV

Old May 12th 2008, 11:52 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Desert Rat's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Dubai
Posts: 132
Desert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really nice
Default Sky TV

Does anyone know how to get sky tv here, i want something decent to watch
Desert Rat is offline  
Old May 12th 2008, 11:57 am
  #2  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Inselaffen's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 13,547
Inselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky TV

Originally Posted by Desert Rat View Post
Does anyone know how to get sky tv here, i want something decent to watch
you need a slingbox connected to the internet and a sky box in the UK.
best if its a sky+ box due to the time difference.
Inselaffen is offline  
Old May 12th 2008, 12:04 pm
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Desert Rat's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Dubai
Posts: 132
Desert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really nice
Default Re: Sky TV

so hows that work then
Desert Rat is offline  
Old May 12th 2008, 12:07 pm
  #4  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Inselaffen's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 13,547
Inselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky TV

Originally Posted by Desert Rat View Post
so hows that work then
transmits it from uk to your PC over here. just connect your PC to your TV!

google slingbox and you'll find all the answers
Inselaffen is offline  
Old May 12th 2008, 12:10 pm
  #5  
**** it we'll do it live
 
shiva's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Dubai
Posts: 7,892
shiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky TV

you need to "place shift" with some fancy electrickery. google slingbox or "place shift tv"

in short you need a sky tv suscription in the uk and two good internet connections, 1 here 1 there plus the slingbox or similar technology at each end. Have heard it works ok to view on a laptop or small screen but not full tv size also our internet is so shite here that its also not reliable.

Cant get sattelite signal too far south.
shiva is offline  
Old May 12th 2008, 12:12 pm
  #6  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Inselaffen's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 13,547
Inselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky TV

Originally Posted by shiva View Post
you need to "place shift" with some fancy electrickery. google slingbox or "place shift tv"

in short you need a sky tv suscription in the uk and two good internet connections, 1 here 1 there plus the slingbox or similar technology at each end. Have heard it works ok to view on a laptop or small screen but not full tv size also our internet is so shite here that its also not reliable.

Cant get sattelite signal too far south.
Sky satellite has a very small concentrated footprint.
I needed a 1m dish to pick it up in Hamburg.
Inselaffen is offline  
Old May 12th 2008, 12:16 pm
  #7  
**** it we'll do it live
 
shiva's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Dubai
Posts: 7,892
shiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky TV

Originally Posted by Inselaffen View Post
Sky satellite has a very small concentrated footprint.
I needed a 1m dish to pick it up in Hamburg.

apparently you can get a signal as far south as turkey but you need a big dish to get it
shiva is offline  
Old May 12th 2008, 12:19 pm
  #8  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Desert Rat's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Dubai
Posts: 132
Desert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really niceDesert Rat is just really nice
Default Re: Sky TV

think I'll stick with what I've got, all sounds to complicated and unlikely to work - thanks anyway
Desert Rat is offline  
Old May 12th 2008, 12:22 pm
  #9  
**** it we'll do it live
 
shiva's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Dubai
Posts: 7,892
shiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky TV

Originally Posted by Desert Rat View Post
think I'll stick with what I've got, all sounds to complicated and unlikely to work - thanks anyway
thats the conclusion I came to.
Once/IF we get a decent internet connection to the real world it may be an option but not until then.
shiva is offline  
Old May 12th 2008, 12:23 pm
  #10  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Inselaffen's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 13,547
Inselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky TV

Originally Posted by shiva View Post
apparently you can get a signal as far south as turkey but you need a big dish to get it
you will need probably a 3.5m dish to receive it there. if not bigger.
Inselaffen is offline  
Old May 12th 2008, 12:23 pm
  #11  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Inselaffen's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 13,547
Inselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond reputeInselaffen has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky TV

Originally Posted by Desert Rat View Post
think I'll stick with what I've got, all sounds to complicated and unlikely to work - thanks anyway
just download the decent stuff off UKNova
Inselaffen is offline  
Old May 13th 2008, 12:39 pm
  #12  
BE Enthusiast
 
CeeBee's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Dubai
Posts: 656
CeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Sky TV

Originally Posted by Inselaffen View Post
just download the decent stuff off UKNova
Or hold on for some of the media centres to come out. There are a few in the pipeline that will just connect to the tv and download / stream from the net.
CeeBee is offline  
Old May 13th 2008, 1:00 pm
  #13  
**** it we'll do it live
 
shiva's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Dubai
Posts: 7,892
shiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond reputeshiva has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky TV

Originally Posted by CeeBee View Post
Or hold on for some of the media centres to come out. There are a few in the pipeline that will just connect to the tv and download / stream from the net.
some are already out, the problem here though comes back to a lousy internet connection with crappy speeds and mass packet loss making streaming very very unreliable.

Last edited by shiva; May 13th 2008 at 1:01 pm. Reason: last bit disappeared???
shiva is offline  
Old May 13th 2008, 2:15 pm
  #14  
BE Enthusiast
 
CeeBee's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Dubai
Posts: 656
CeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Sky TV

Originally Posted by Desert Rat View Post
Does anyone know how to get sky tv here, i want something decent to watch
I thought Showtime was the equivelant no?
CeeBee is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.