Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East > The Sand Pit
Reload this Page >

Connecting my PS3 to the internet

Connecting my PS3 to the internet

Old Jan 31st 2009, 11:10 am
  #1  
why ayeeeee man!
Thread Starter
 
Spugsy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Disco Gardens...
Posts: 11,370
Spugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Connecting my PS3 to the internet

TEchie dudes, anyonehelp me out?

Iv'e got 2mb wireless internet, thomson router, works fine on the laptop and mac, but can't for the life of me connect my PS3 so I can get online and play other mates back home,

i go through all the stuff, it scans and finds my network, then once looking for ip address at the end bit it times out,

any idea what I need to do? Predictable when I rang etisalat they tell me they don't support Playstations.


Also how do I get onto my wireless info on the mac? I can't find my bookley, I know I put in the ip address or something then I get all the info, just want to check I'm putting the right password in.

Cheers all.....help!
Spugsy is offline  
Old Jan 31st 2009, 11:20 am
  #2  
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 872
still.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Connecting my PS3 to the internet

Originally Posted by Spugsy View Post
TEchie dudes, anyonehelp me out?

Iv'e got 2mb wireless internet, thomson router, works fine on the laptop and mac, but can't for the life of me connect my PS3 so I can get online and play other mates back home,

i go through all the stuff, it scans and finds my network, then once looking for ip address at the end bit it times out,

any idea what I need to do? Predictable when I rang etisalat they tell me they don't support Playstations.


Also how do I get onto my wireless info on the mac? I can't find my bookley, I know I put in the ip address or something then I get all the info, just want to check I'm putting the right password in.

Cheers all.....help!
(ok, on with the geek hat...) it sounds like your router maybe either restricting the number of connections or filtering by MAC address. to find out what's going on, try this...

1. find out your mac's ip address... (On Mac OS X:
a. Open system preferences
b. Under internet and network, click 'network'
It will show you your IP address.)

2. open up your web browser and go to the router's address. it should be something like if your mac is 192.168.1.10, your router would be 192.168.1.1.

3. log into your routers management webpage (see the thomson website for the default username/password on your admin page --> http://www.thomson.net/GlobalEnglish...s/home-uk.aspx)

4. look at the wifi settings and you can look for the password for your network or if there's any maximum client restrictions

best of luck!
still.unsure is offline  
Old Jan 31st 2009, 11:35 am
  #3  
why ayeeeee man!
Thread Starter
 
Spugsy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Disco Gardens...
Posts: 11,370
Spugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Connecting my PS3 to the internet

Originally Posted by still.unsure View Post
(ok, on with the geek hat...) it sounds like your router maybe either restricting the number of connections or filtering by MAC address. to find out what's going on, try this...

1. find out your mac's ip address... (On Mac OS X:
a. Open system preferences
b. Under internet and network, click 'network'
It will show you your IP address.)

2. open up your web browser and go to the router's address. it should be something like if your mac is 192.168.1.10, your router would be 192.168.1.1.

3. log into your routers management webpage (see the thomson website for the default username/password on your admin page --> http://www.thomson.net/GlobalEnglish...s/home-uk.aspx)

4. look at the wifi settings and you can look for the password for your network or if there's any maximum client restrictions

best of luck!
ok I've found how to get on, you were spot on about that, the default name and password got me on, can't seem to find where my password is,

also I got this from someone else, I have no idea what it means though.,..

'hey the reason you can not connection is because your encryption is set to wpa-psk. you have to set the encryption to wep open or wep shared and customize your wep on your router.

to get connected. ps3 does not support wpa-psk or wpa2 right now.'
Spugsy is offline  
Old Jan 31st 2009, 11:42 am
  #4  
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 872
still.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Connecting my PS3 to the internet

Originally Posted by Spugsy View Post
ok I've found how to get on, you were spot on about that, the default name and password got me on, can't seem to find where my password is,

also I got this from someone else, I have no idea what it means though.,..

'hey the reason you can not connection is because your encryption is set to wpa-psk. you have to set the encryption to wep open or wep shared and customize your wep on your router.

to get connected. ps3 does not support wpa-psk or wpa2 right now.'
good stuff... ok, the password for the wifi will be called either passkey or pass phrase.

as for the WEP/WPA stuff, i can't confirm (will check mine, am pretty sure i'm using WPA on my ps3 - wifi)

would not recommend changing the key configuration at the moment 'cos you don't want to screw up your existing connections.

edit: there's a ps3 firmware update (1.5+ --> http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-9680472-1.html) that will get you sorted on the wpa-psk side of things. you can download it to your mac, copy it to a thumbdrive or usb drive, and install it. (the latest version is 2.6 and it works fine. you can check your current version by going to the system menu on your ps3)
still.unsure is offline  
Old Jan 31st 2009, 11:51 am
  #5  
why ayeeeee man!
Thread Starter
 
Spugsy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Disco Gardens...
Posts: 11,370
Spugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Connecting my PS3 to the internet

Originally Posted by still.unsure View Post
good stuff... ok, the password for the wifi will be called either passkey or pass phrase.

as for the WEP/WPA stuff, i can't confirm (will check mine, am pretty sure i'm using WPA on my ps3 - wifi)

would not recommend changing the key configuration at the moment 'cos you don't want to screw up your existing connections.

edit: there's a ps3 firmware update (1.5+ --> http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-9680472-1.html) that will get you sorted on the wpa-psk side of things. you can download it to your mac, copy it to a thumbdrive or usb drive, and install it. (the latest version is 2.6 and it works fine. you can check your current version by going to the system menu on your ps3)

ok found it but its greyed out - in fact here we are, any ideas?

also is there a link for the firmware update?

And cheers for this...
Attached Thumbnails Connecting my PS3 to the internet-picture-2.png  
Spugsy is offline  
Old Jan 31st 2009, 12:18 pm
  #6  
why ayeeeee man!
Thread Starter
 
Spugsy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Disco Gardens...
Posts: 11,370
Spugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Connecting my PS3 to the internet

Originally Posted by still.unsure View Post
good stuff... ok, the password for the wifi will be called either passkey or pass phrase.

as for the WEP/WPA stuff, i can't confirm (will check mine, am pretty sure i'm using WPA on my ps3 - wifi)

would not recommend changing the key configuration at the moment 'cos you don't want to screw up your existing connections.

edit: there's a ps3 firmware update (1.5+ --> http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-9680472-1.html) that will get you sorted on the wpa-psk side of things. you can download it to your mac, copy it to a thumbdrive or usb drive, and install it. (the latest version is 2.6 and it works fine. you can check your current version by going to the system menu on your ps3)
ok sorted, I found the password and all is good,

cheers for your help though, appreciate it.
Spugsy is offline  
Old Jan 31st 2009, 3:26 pm
  #7  
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 872
still.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to beholdstill.unsure is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Connecting my PS3 to the internet

Originally Posted by Spugsy View Post
ok sorted, I found the password and all is good,

cheers for your help though, appreciate it.
good stuff!

here's the link for the firmware update but you can also do it through the ps3 now that it's on the 'net

http://www.us.playstation.com/Support/SystemUpdates/PS3

(firmware 2.60 lets you play divx and xvid as well for downloaded films, very worth getting!)
still.unsure is offline  
Old Jan 31st 2009, 3:27 pm
  #8  
Once a blue Always a blue
 
Tiger989's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Posts: 480
Tiger989 is a glorious beacon of lightTiger989 is a glorious beacon of lightTiger989 is a glorious beacon of lightTiger989 is a glorious beacon of lightTiger989 is a glorious beacon of lightTiger989 is a glorious beacon of lightTiger989 is a glorious beacon of lightTiger989 is a glorious beacon of lightTiger989 is a glorious beacon of lightTiger989 is a glorious beacon of lightTiger989 is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Connecting my PS3 to the internet

PS3 won't work on your thomson
You need an open link and a password free router.
And thomson modem lag like a bitch when you online.
Tiger989 is offline  
Old Jan 31st 2009, 4:59 pm
  #9  
why ayeeeee man!
Thread Starter
 
Spugsy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Disco Gardens...
Posts: 11,370
Spugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Connecting my PS3 to the internet

Originally Posted by still.unsure View Post
good stuff!

here's the link for the firmware update but you can also do it through the ps3 now that it's on the 'net

http://www.us.playstation.com/Support/SystemUpdates/PS3

(firmware 2.60 lets you play divx and xvid as well for downloaded films, very worth getting!)
yeah updated the firmware and fifa as well, dead easy, man its ace, been playing online as well.
Spugsy is offline  
Old Jan 31st 2009, 5:00 pm
  #10  
why ayeeeee man!
Thread Starter
 
Spugsy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Disco Gardens...
Posts: 11,370
Spugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond reputeSpugsy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Connecting my PS3 to the internet

Originally Posted by Tiger989 View Post
PS3 won't work on your thomson
You need an open link and a password free router.
And thomson modem lag like a bitch when you online.
well it does dude, works like a treat.
Spugsy is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.