Mt Kilimanjaro climb

Old Jun 14th 2001, 3:17 am
Steve

I am seriously considering climbing Mt Kilimanjaro next year around May. It will be
my first climb and I plan to go alone, except for the guide and any porters. Can
someone give me the name or names & addresses of tour companies that specialize in
Kili WITH a high success rate of summiting. Personal experience preferred and no
soliciations from companies please. I figure 6 to 8 days to make, and it's important
to me to summit. I would be buying my own tent and other equipment for the trip--I've
read it's better to do this than rent it there. I SINCERELY appreciate your help &
ANY suggestions. Steve (USA)

Old Jun 14th 2001, 11:59 am
Anna Fawke

Hi, Well I have no personal experience yet, I am planning on climbing Kili in august
this year. I am flying out of GB using a package deal (Travelbag Adventures). So far
so good with them. I don't have the means to organise a private trip, but have
researched various companies. I came across a US company called Leading Edge who
seemed to be very serious and had a very high success rate. I don't remember if they
do private trips or just group tours but they may be worth a try. I also recall
reading on the internet somewhere about a guy who had done the same as you plan to
do. He recommened it, though found it a bit lonely due to communication problems with
the guide and porters. He also went on a very little used trail and so managed to
avoid the traditional tourist trails. I'll see if I can find a link to his page.

Hope this is of use!

Anna

Steve wrote:

>
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >

Old Jun 14th 2001, 2:12 pm
Terks FujoMasta

>

Check out: http://www.altrec.com/features/crownofafrica/ - there you'll find Moshi
based companies recommended by a park warden - go for the MJ one.
http://www.gorp.com/gorp/location/af...a/home_kil.htm - found it useful.
Other than that there's this hotel in Marangu run by a couple of Brits - can't