Wikiposts

Hello and help!

Old Jul 4th 2017, 8:41 am
Forum Regular

Cherrypop has a brilliant futureCherrypop has a brilliant futureCherrypop has a brilliant futureCherrypop has a brilliant futureCherrypop has a brilliant futureCherrypop has a brilliant futureCherrypop has a brilliant futureCherrypop has a brilliant future
Default Hello and help!

Hello everyone. I hope there's no problem in my introducing myself here - it seems a bit more personal than on the main intro thread.

I'm Gill and am looking to retire in the Algarve. I'm actually writing from my hotel room as I'm on an inspection trip with the estate agent. I've seen a lot of property in the last 2 days and more of the same tomorrow.

This was always intended as a fact-finding trip - what can I potentially afford and where is the best place for me? I'll be relocating alone (apart from my dog). I'm a nurse, about to apply for early retirement, no kids and little in the way of family or ties to the uk so relocation offers me a real possibility of surviving on my NHS pension and having a better later life. To stay in the UK I'd have to work until I draw my last breath so the moving plans are underway.

I'm very aware that the possibilty of becoming isolated is a very real one and I'm keen for any advice about locations. I don't want to live somewhere where it's a seasonal community; I need to be where there are people around me all year be it expats or locals. Sadly, my budget to buy property only allows me a limited choice as I'm keen to avoid apartments for a long list of reasons.

I've loved looking around eastern Algarve, I think the coast is wonderful and property prices give me more to choose from. Paderne has properties I love and can afford and I've found a gem in Olhos de Agua. My difficulty is, I've no idea what any of these can offer by way of a social life that will allow me to integrate and build a circle of friends.