Attack Site.
#1
No comments so far about why this site was under attack and off line for more than a week.
#2
Home and Happy










Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 94,306
From: Keep true friends and puppets close, trust no-one else...











#3
Banned



Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 207
From: Portugal











It was offline and it had nothing to do with me - honest
Advisory provided by Google
Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for britishexpats.com/forum
What is the current listing status for britishexpats.com/forum?
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 20 time(s) over the past 90 days.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 878 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 474 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2013-07-02, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2013-06-24.
Malicious software is hosted on 3 domain(s), including bruceobtain.in/, wisekeycommunications.in/, frontfacingtelos.in/.
1 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including bruceobtain.in/.
This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS13897 (CDC1).
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, britishexpats.com/forum appeared to function as an intermediary for the infection of 13 site(s) including bit.ly/, itags.org/, tinyurl.com/.
Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
Next steps:
Return to the previous page.
If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google's Webmaster Help Center.
Updated 1 hours ago
© Google - Google Home

Advisory provided by Google
Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for britishexpats.com/forum
What is the current listing status for britishexpats.com/forum?
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 20 time(s) over the past 90 days.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 878 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 474 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2013-07-02, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2013-06-24.
Malicious software is hosted on 3 domain(s), including bruceobtain.in/, wisekeycommunications.in/, frontfacingtelos.in/.
1 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including bruceobtain.in/.
This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS13897 (CDC1).
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, britishexpats.com/forum appeared to function as an intermediary for the infection of 13 site(s) including bit.ly/, itags.org/, tinyurl.com/.
Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
Next steps:
Return to the previous page.
If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google's Webmaster Help Center.
Updated 1 hours ago
© Google - Google Home
#5
Home and Happy










Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 94,306
From: Keep true friends and puppets close, trust no-one else...











The site had been online all the time.
There was an advert hosted containing a dodgy code, that triggered a warning on google. However as we posted throughout on many facebook pages as well as on the site itself, BE was not offline and there was nothing wrong with the site
troubLe is that although the site wascleared as infection free within a few hours, it has taken Google nearly two weeks to update its alerting service.
There was an advert hosted containing a dodgy code, that triggered a warning on google. However as we posted throughout on many facebook pages as well as on the site itself, BE was not offline and there was nothing wrong with the site
troubLe is that although the site wascleared as infection free within a few hours, it has taken Google nearly two weeks to update its alerting service.
#6
No idea what (or why) caused the malware issue, but the site wasn't down, just Google took a long time to reindex the site and so many people were getting an warning message and couldn't access the site.
All is well now though
#7
BE Forum Addict









Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,111
From: central Portugal











I think you'll find the site or an ad on the site etc was infected with the 'snapdo' thing....... it changes the viewers Google to Snapdo and is a right royal PITA to get rid off.......
Lots of info on the net about Snapdo and what a nuisance it is.
#8
Around June 22nd, a bot injected a broken iframe onto BE. We do not believe it was still functioning as malware at that point, but it may have been. Since it *had* been functioning in the past when this iframe was appearing on other websites, Google flagged BE as having malware. The iframe was removed (as of June 23rd), and we're waiting for Google to re-scan BE and show it as safe.
Meanwhile, this warning continues to display for many (not all) users across different browsers.
The important thing to remember is that there is NO MALWARE on BE. BE has no control over how quickly Google updates their warnings -- we are just in a holding pattern. If you see this warning, it is safe to click "ignore" and go to the pages you came to visit.
This is a link to a 3rd-party scanning site, giving BE the "all-clear":
http://urlquery.net/report.php?id=3347219
Update - Tech have told me that Google’s response was to start submitting unique forum URL’s into their error reporting tool linked below. Tech have started going through it, but it will take a while as the list of forums on BE is quite long. Tech have also submitted a blanket pattern URL in the hopes that they can consume just that.
http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/report_error/
We're sorry for the inconvenience, and hopefully BE will be back to normal-looking as soon as possible. So please bear with us.
Meanwhile, this warning continues to display for many (not all) users across different browsers.
The important thing to remember is that there is NO MALWARE on BE. BE has no control over how quickly Google updates their warnings -- we are just in a holding pattern. If you see this warning, it is safe to click "ignore" and go to the pages you came to visit.
This is a link to a 3rd-party scanning site, giving BE the "all-clear":
http://urlquery.net/report.php?id=3347219
Update - Tech have told me that Google’s response was to start submitting unique forum URL’s into their error reporting tool linked below. Tech have started going through it, but it will take a while as the list of forums on BE is quite long. Tech have also submitted a blanket pattern URL in the hopes that they can consume just that.
http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/report_error/
We're sorry for the inconvenience, and hopefully BE will be back to normal-looking as soon as possible. So please bear with us.
#9
BE Forum Addict









Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,111
From: central Portugal











Thanks Sue. snapdo are a right royal PITA and I'd be happy to tie them to a tree for leopard bait but I don't think you need to apologise to me at least.
#11
Well the red page warning that this was a possible attack site also gives you the option to ignore the warning and enter the website. I guess some people just ignored the warning or indeed did not get the warning message.
It certainly took a while before the site was officially cleared.
It certainly took a while before the site was officially cleared.





