Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Police
Reload this Page >

Working in the Police Forces (Canada)

Working in the Police Forces (Canada)

Old Oct 18th 2009, 11:24 pm
Forum Regular

MarkyUK is just really niceMarkyUK is just really niceMarkyUK is just really niceMarkyUK is just really niceMarkyUK is just really niceMarkyUK is just really niceMarkyUK is just really niceMarkyUK is just really nice
Default Working in the Police Forces (Canada)

Hey there,

Just a quick question...

I live in the UK, and am considering the possibility of moving to Canada when I'm a little older...

Are you able to apply to the police forces in Canada (In particular, Toronto) if you have no experience of the police forces previously.

Thanks,

Marky
Old Oct 18th 2009, 11:38 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

ann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Working in the Police Forces (Canada)

Hi Marky

Currently, for all police services in Canada, you need to be a Canadian citizen or you need to have Permanent Residency.

Edmonton and Calgary in Alberta have been using a provincial programme whereby they nominate people they want for a PR visa and the whole visa process is somewhat expedited. See both the Calgary and Edmonton police threads on this very site.

All other provinces and police services so far have not 'helped' anyone else to come to Canada to work as a police officer.