Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Police
Reload this Page >

Thinking of moving but do us Coppers get paid enough?

Thinking of moving but do us Coppers get paid enough?

Old Jun 20th 2006, 4:20 pm
Just Joined

clarkey has a spectacular aura aboutclarkey has a spectacular aura aboutclarkey has a spectacular aura about
Default Thinking of moving but do us Coppers get paid enough?

Hi - After reading this you all may think I am a little bit tapped but here we go. I am a Police Officer, have never been to Oz (but everyone I know that has, says it is great,brill etc etc) but WA Police are later this year recruiting Officers from foreign countries. The starting wage for my length of service is about $50000 which is a pay cut in UK terms but I have heard cost of living is cheaper over there. I would be based in WA, but exactly where is unknown.

So my questions are:

1. Is it really as good to live there as everyone says?

2. Is $50000 a good wage to live on, bearing in mind my wife would not walk straight into employment? (Excuse my ignorance) I have been told that $50K would be a struggle for mortgage, and we have one wee bairn on the way too

3. Are house prices reasonable, and is $50K enough for decent mortgage etc (obviously will have some savings from sale of overly priced house in UK!!!)

It is a long way off and there are many hurdles to get over but I want to get as much info as possible to make an informed decision.

Any info welcomed

Thanks

Ross
Old Jun 25th 2006, 12:54 pm
BE Enthusiast