Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Police
Reload this Page >

stop whining about the UK, and the grass is NOT greener

stop whining about the UK, and the grass is NOT greener

Old Dec 23rd 2006, 7:52 am
Just Joined

Vladimir Drake is an unknown quantity at this point
Default stop whining about the UK, and the grass is NOT greener

I totally disagree with the above discouraging postings and note the amount of whinging and whining from people on this site.

I think the UK is an infinitely suprior place to work and live to either US or Canada, and I am getting fed up with all these UK officers who are so keen to turn their back on their own police services that trained and provided for them.

I have seen both sides, I came out to Canada for personal reasons.

Now I am returning to the Uk to rejoin the police and cannot wait!

I have never been in a more hideously boring country in my life than Canada!

As to the US: look at the murder rate! And the culture!

Edmonton and Calgary consist of mainly ugly modern shopping malls in a flat big piece of farming country.

The UK is far more progressive in policing than canada or the US, and also the equipment, training and career development far better.

Also the terms and conditions such as pension and vacation are far better.

My advice to those planning to leave the UK for Canada, is think before you leap. Many come to Canada, and end up stuck and unable to get back.

Canada: good for baseball caps ice hockey and donuts. Wow, what siginificant contribtutions to world culture
Old Dec 23rd 2006, 10:45 am
Forum Regular

Davie McCaig will become famous soon enough
Default Re: stop whining about the UK, and the grass is NOT greener

Originally Posted by Vladimir Drake
I totally disagree with the above discouraging postings and note the amount of whinging and whining from people on this site.