Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Police
Reload this Page >

Royal Gibraltar Police? Yes? No?

Royal Gibraltar Police? Yes? No?

Old Dec 12th 2011, 4:17 pm
Just Joined... In 2011!

martinrobinson1490 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Royal Gibraltar Police? Yes? No?

Hi,

Since March this year I have been in touch with Corporate Development at Royal Gibraltar Police. I am considering applying to work as a constable over there and if I get through the selection process I will be moving out there with my girlfriend.
I am currently a serving police officer with Northumbria Police just coming up to three years service.
From speaking to corporate development I can not transfer directly to RGP and will have to start as one of their recruit constables.
Anyone done this move? or know anyone who has?
Please reply.
Thanks.
Martin
Old Dec 13th 2011, 7:33 pm
Just Joined

TOURIST1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Royal Gibraltar Police? Yes? No?

You might find that to apply to the Gibraltar police you have to be a resident of Gibraltar for three years prior to application.
Old Dec 13th 2011, 7:52 pm
Just Joined... In 2011!

martinrobinson1490 is an unknown quantity at this point

Originally Posted by TOURIST1
You might find that to apply to the Gibraltar police you have to be a resident of Gibraltar for three years prior to application.
according to the correspondence I have had with corporate development it is possible to join if -
1) I am over 18 and a british citizen and,
2) Will be so resident in Gibraltar if employed.

There are other ways such as the one you have stated - being resident in Gibraltar for a minimum of 3 years.

And another whereby you are the spouse of a British citizen by virtue of a connection with Gibraltar, provided they are resident in Gibraltar.

This information was sent to me in march mind
Old Dec 14th 2011, 9:50 pm