Big Decisions!

Old Sep 12th 2007, 10:08 am
Just Joined

MattR is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Big Decisions!

Hello everyone!

My partner and I have finally made the decision to emmigrate. And the country of choice is canada. My partner is a Teacher so we are hoping her side of the move should be fairly straightforward. I have been serving as an RAF Policeman for the last nine years and have decided to jumpship and follow my dreams before I become institutionalised.

The dilemma I'm facing is how to go about changing my job. I'd consider myself to be a good candidate for the Canadian police force (Calgary is the area of choice by the way) but was considering joining the UK police and gaining some Civil police experience first as I gather it can take up to 4 years to actually get through the immigration process.

I'm basically looking for any advice, tips, hints on how to improve my chances and/or make things go smoothly!

Cheers,

Matt
Old Sep 12th 2007, 2:25 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

ann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond reputeann m has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Big Decisions!

Hi Matt and welcome to BE.

Calgary Police offer something called the Provincial Nominee Programme. It is a faster way of getting over there, rather than waiting around 4 years if you were to apply for immigration via the Skilled Worker route. Most of the people that are using the PNP are, admittedly, current UK officers. But, to be honest, I don't see any reason why you might not qualify to use this system.