UK pension transfer

Old Aug 8th 2008, 8:24 pm
Just Joined

bewitching soul is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK pension transfer

Hi
I'm new to this so bear with me: confused:
I am a nurse with 20+ years NHS pension , they have told me to transfer my pension to a QROPS pension scheme in Oz but every one from the HMRC list is either no longer registered or won't take transfers.
a few who looked ok aren't registered so another head ache
I am looking for a pension scheme that offers simuliar to NHS but I know hat has all changed now.
I am aware that I have 6 mths from entry before I will be hit by tax on my pension.
any help would be gratefully acknowledge,espeacially from any former uk nurse who have successfuly transferd

bewitching soul soon to resident in Perth
Old Aug 9th 2008, 3:52 am
22B
BE Enthusiast

22B has a brilliant future22B has a brilliant future22B has a brilliant future22B has a brilliant future22B has a brilliant future22B has a brilliant future22B has a brilliant future
Default Re: UK pension transfer

It is very confusing - I remember tearing my hair out over transferring OHs army pension.

Here are a couple of general info websites that may clarify, but I have searched them for UK/QROPS info and nada.

http://www.industryfunds.com.au/

http://www.fido.gov.au/fido/fido.nsf...20super%20maze

A couple of tips:

You say they 'have told you' to transfer - but I doubt that they can make you. Have you taken financial advice on the pros and cons of transferring? Things to understand are:-
- the benefits you will get if you remain vs the benefits you will get if you move
- the tax effects
- the exchange rate effect

Try to get into an industry fund if you can - they are generally cheaper. They also offer very cheap life insurance. HESTA is the one for 'health and community services'. Why not contact them (phone/fax/e-mail) and ask about transfers/QROPS?
http://www.hesta.com.au/Members.html