Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Nurses, Doctors, and other Medical/Healthcare occupations
Reload this Page >

new to site--UK RN in Mental Health seeks advice about work in USA?

new to site--UK RN in Mental Health seeks advice about work in USA?

Old Mar 24th 2008, 5:01 am
Forum Regular

fluxsta is just really nicefluxsta is just really nicefluxsta is just really nicefluxsta is just really nicefluxsta is just really nicefluxsta is just really nicefluxsta is just really nicefluxsta is just really nicefluxsta is just really nicefluxsta is just really nicefluxsta is just really nice
Unhappy new to site--UK RN in Mental Health seeks advice about work in USA?

Hi all,
New to this forum and am keen for information on what is proving to be a complete minefield of mixed messages for me! I am an RN in Mental Health in the UK and aim to work in/around the Portland,Oregon area?

I have so many varied Q's but will limit first post to just a few! I understand that in the USA a Registered Nurse qualification is needed to practice in psychiatry (or mental health as known in UK), and as you know there is a distinct boundary for this in UK. I understand that a number of areas of practice have to be fulfilled such as paediatrics etc to fulfill the RN requirement in the States.

As I did an RN in psychiatirc care is this recognised at all? Or do i need to be a general RN to work in psyc wards?? I see lots of info on Oregon State Board of Nursing webpage, and have looked at the NCLEX exam (which i do not think i would pass due to limited knowledge of general nursing skills) and also the CGFNS exam for foreign nurses?

I have a Bachelors Degree in Psychology also which goes some way to getting employment in USA. It is really how I go about finding out about being a mental health nurse specicfically as i couldn't bear the thought of 3 more years general nurse training here in UK (money etc).