Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Young professionals without experience - moving to NZ realistic?

Young professionals without experience - moving to NZ realistic?

Old Jul 21st 2013, 12:51 pm
Just Joined

different_river is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Young professionals without experience - moving to NZ realistic?

My fiance and I are both in our late 20s, currently living in Dublin. I finish my masters in social work next June (2014) and will then be a professionally qualified social worker (a profession that's listed in the skills shortage lists for NZ). I've no real social work experience outside of the internships I will have done for the masters. My fiance has an undergrad and masters in philosophy, but as it goes, has had to find work elsewhere. He's been working in telecommunications and will have certificates in database administration by next June.

I'm American and have lived in South Korea before Ireland, so am used to being far away from home. My real worry is this: we get our visas for NZ, move out there and then find a similar situation for work (hardly any jobs in Ireland) - especially considering neither of us have post-grad experience in the fields we'll be qualified in.

Would anyone have a word of advice? Is it especially difficult finding work with little experience? (of course, we both have years of experience in jobs unrelated to the fields we'll have qualifications in)

Any words of wisdom much appreciated!
Old Jul 21st 2013, 3:23 pm
BE Enthusiast

M_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond reputeM_and_M has a reputation beyond repute