Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Hope to be in NZ in 2 years........

Hope to be in NZ in 2 years........

Old Sep 15th 2007, 1:46 pm
Just Joined

Lou-Darren is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Hope to be in NZ in 2 years........

Hi there

We hope to be in NZ in about 2 years, that is me Lou (33) husband Darren (38), 3 kids (13, 11 and 8).

I have contacted a few places re jobs and had some positive contacts already. Not sure how the proccess works though!!

When we apply for the EOI should i have a job offer in place or does that come after?

I work in education in administration, also NVQ qualified assessor and post 16 teacher. My husband works as a transport planner and hopes to do the same when we get there. What should we do first apply for jobs or submit the EOI?

I will be the main applicant due to quals that i have. We are planning to put the house on the market in Nov 2008.

Thanks for any advice you can offer
Lou
Old Sep 15th 2007, 2:10 pm

happynz is just really nicehappynz is just really nicehappynz is just really nicehappynz is just really nicehappynz is just really nicehappynz is just really nicehappynz is just really nicehappynz is just really nice
Default Re: Hope to be in NZ in 2 years........

Hi Lou,

I feel it's advantageous to have a job first simply because you get more points on your EOI and you tend to get processed a bit faster.

Seeing as how you are a couple of years out it probably doesn't hurt to put feelers out, but I dunno, will an employer wait two years for you to come out? Maybe, could be you are that good.

Good luck.
Old Sep 15th 2007, 6:16 pm
Just Joined

Thanks for the reply Happynz.

I don't think i'm that good though!!

I'll probably just keep contacting people and put a list of contacts together for later on.

Thanks again
Lou
Old Sep 15th 2007, 6:23 pm
BE Forum Addict