Reload this Page >

General Advice Wanted

General Advice Wanted

Old Sep 1st 2013, 5:48 pm
Just Joined

garykary is an unknown quantity at this point
Default General Advice Wanted

Hi,

I'm knew to this but wondered if anyone could give me a bit of advice/pointers please.

We are looking at emigrating next year but was just wondering about the cost of living in New Zealand, in general is it higher than the UK??

I'm a civil engineer so am hopeful of finding work with a salary similar to what I'm on in the UK, but my wife may initially struggle for work based on the job she does in the UK so we may need to survive on my wage alone for a period of time. I'm led to believe a comparable for for me would be around 75k NZ. Is this a liveable wage in the short term to support my wife and two children aged 10 & 9???

Thanks for any advice in advance.
Old Sep 1st 2013, 8:09 pm

Location: Wellington - I miss Castles, the NHS & English school system
MrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond reputeMrsFychan has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: General Advice Wanted

depends what you want out of the move, where you live. you pay tax on every cent you earn over here, you pay for all GP visits. Dentists are on a par we feel from what we have experienced. You are meant to pay a "voluntary" fee to schools and you buy the kids books, pens etc as well as the additional costs throughout the year.

I don't feel that we are any better off here than the UK, if anything slightly worse as not a lot of money left if any at the end of the month, if any to save and that is with both of us working, albeit me working part time.