Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Advice for a UK Qualified Nurse who doesn't meet NZ Registered Nurse criteria

Advice for a UK Qualified Nurse who doesn't meet NZ Registered Nurse criteria

Old Jul 16th 2014, 1:17 pm
Just Joined

Mrspeeks is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Advice for a UK Qualified Nurse who doesn't meet NZ Registered Nurse criteria

Dear all,

I'm a fully qualified UK nurse but without the 2 years experience which is required by the Nursing Council of New Zealand. I was an A&E Support Worker (the first rung to becoming a UK paramedic) before I took up my training to be a nurse, but I understand from the nursing council that that doesn't count towards the required criteria.

My husband and I are moving out to Wellington in August (he's got work sorted so we're not going to starve or anything!).

I'd really appreciate any advice that you might have for someone in my position, in particular on whether
- there are any sorts of nursing roles in NZ where the experience requirements are less stringent;
- anyone else has been in this situation and has found a slightly different career path to pursue;
- there are types of roles that aren't visible online but which I might be able to pick up once we arrive.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Old Jul 17th 2014, 6:31 am
BE Enthusiast

lisamct has a reputation beyond reputelisamct has a reputation beyond reputelisamct has a reputation beyond reputelisamct has a reputation beyond reputelisamct has a reputation beyond reputelisamct has a reputation beyond reputelisamct has a reputation beyond reputelisamct has a reputation beyond reputelisamct has a reputation beyond reputelisamct has a reputation beyond reputelisamct has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Advice for a UK Qualified Nurse who doesn't meet NZ Registered Nurse criteria

I think you might have difficulty working around that one.