Reload this Page >

10 years in NZ and still unsure

10 years in NZ and still unsure

Old Dec 28th 2017, 7:27 pm
Just Joined

BucksGal is an unknown quantity at this point
Question 10 years in NZ and still unsure

Hi everyone.

I'm new to this site. I hate to be a miserable "POM" but here goes...

I'm originally from a tiny village called Chalfont St Giles. My family and I moved to NZ when I was 17. I am now 27, happily married, lucky enough to be a homeowner and have somewhat of a good career.

....Yet I still crave the UK. I miss my friends and family still! I have not managed to create any strong friendships, even though I went to school and uni here! What makes it harder is all of my friends back home are still super close and would love to have me home.

I always feel like an outsider and believe I am treated like one too. Even my Kiwi husband feels NZ isn't a "open minded" place... don't get me started on "tall poppy syndrome".

I'm a Marketing Manager here and have been in marketing for about 7 years. I'm still yet to find a workplace that I really do like. No one ever wants to catch up outside of work, everyone is overworked and under paid. And all the bosses I have had have been bullies (and sexist - & I am by no means I big feminist!) Plus we work so incredibly hard, crazy hours!

My family are also considering the move back to England, which is making me even more tempted. My husband is open to it, but then I feel bad taking him from his home and his family.

I suppose I thought after 10 years I'd be more than settled. However the older I've become the more I am unhappy here.

I'd love to hear other peoples thoughts on this and if you came at a similar age?

Apologies for the very negative post!
Old Dec 29th 2017, 6:36 pm
BE Forum Addict