Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

Thinking about returning -- Essex or Gloucestershire?

Thinking about returning -- Essex or Gloucestershire?

Old Jan 19th 2012, 2:30 pm
Just Joined

Emma1420 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Thinking about returning -- Essex or Gloucestershire?

So I'm considering returnin to the UK after living in the US for 20 years (I moved as a teenager, so while I have a NIN, for example, I have no work experience in the UK, no driving license, etc.). The majority of my family is spread out around the south of England. My parents and grandmother live in Gloucestershire, I have a couple step-siblings who live in London, and then my brother and hiw wife lives in Essex.

In the past anytime I've even considered going back I always assumed I would go back to Gloucestershire as that is where my parents were and that is where I grew up for the most part. However, now I'm thinking that perhaps Essex might have more decent job opportunities?

Does anyone have any advice? I've visited both places, and I know that Essex has more expensive housing in general, but I don't know much about the job opportunities, and my family isn't much help.
Old Jan 19th 2012, 5:17 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

SanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Thinking about returning -- Essex or Gloucestershire?

What type of work will you be looking for? What work experience have you had in the US?