NYC 6 Month Break from UK

Old Oct 1st 2011, 2:50 pm
Just Joined

Eggybread is an unknown quantity at this point
Default NYC 6 Month Break from UK

Hello there,

It's my first time posting so be gentle I wonder if someone can offer me some guidance please?

I'm a 31 year old female (although I look much younger, obviously) having recently returned from a holiday in NYC. I liked it so much I've decided I'd like to do a longer visit of. At this point, I have every intention of returning to the UK after my 6 month stay.

I work freelance in the UK, set up as a limited company. The work is Architectural Computer Generated Imagery related and I intend to still work for my UK clients whilst I'm there, aswell as potential new US clients. There is someone in the UK who can manage the UK based meetings etc whilst I'm away. I could also take a break from work and employ someone to cover my work in the UK if I'm not allowed to work in the US (for my UK company, or new US set-up if I needed to look at this?), depending on what is allowed.

Some help on the visa side of things would be appreciated as I can only find information on 3 months visas that are for tourism and business. Even if I reduced my stay for 3 months, I don't know if I'm allowed to work for my UK business in that time. The only other visa I can find is to apply for a permanent stay.

I'd also love to hear from other females of a similar age who have done something similar. I'm super energetic and although I know there is plenty to do, I would like to make friends when I'm there. I was thinking of bringing my dog with me but am now thinking of leaving him with family whilst I'm away as moving into a shared appartment would be more cost effective, and less isolating.