Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

New, and returning to the UK... Sunday

New, and returning to the UK... Sunday

Old Jul 11th 2013, 11:21 pm
Just Joined

liverpoolbass is an unknown quantity at this point
Default New, and returning to the UK... Sunday

Hey, before I start, sorry for this first post being a complete essay!
So, I've been stalking around these boards for a few months now, and thought i'd finally post seeing as things are coming together/or are they? So, I moved to Columbus, OH, June of last year, been here for 13 months.
I'd visited the US twice last year to see how I'd like Ohio, and also mainly to finally meet the girl I'd been talking to for 14 years (she is a USC), along with one mutual friend I had with via her.

She lives with her Mum, and her Mum's boyfriend... (I know people's alarm bells would have probably just gone off right there!) I didn't think this as a problem, they seemed great and happy to help on the first two meetings, and were happy for me to move over, (her mum was aware of me for them 14 years). So they live in a big old house, then 2 stories, so we aren't living side by side, still all the same one house, it's just some stairs separating us.

So, forward the hellish task of sorting the visa, sending me an employment authorization document late with a validity of 2 months, then sending the GC to the wrong address, twice! They lost our birth certificates, then lost the tax return copies we sent, 4 infopass appointments I managed to get an I-551 stamp in my passport, and then finally the GC arrived! It was stressful.
So, that time was spent being unable to obtain a driver's license, nothing. So I was stuck not being able to work, and kind of stuck in the middle of the cornfields of Ohio.