Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Moving back or to the UK
Reload this Page >

Cracked it at work yesterday

Cracked it at work yesterday

Old Apr 16th 2008, 1:44 am
Account Closed

Margaret3 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Cracked it at work yesterday

Am definately losing the plot, i cant take work at all now!!!

Am a scrub nurse in melbourne, was preparing for an op when i couldnt get an instrument together, i wasnt particularly worried, i have lots of experience and knew i would get there, however the 2 nurses i was working with were asian and , once again, they started shouting at me, am sorry , but i have had one too many asian nurses shouting at me, i lost it, started shouting back, and off they went crying:curse: in comes the clinical teacher , explaining its my accent , they cant understand me, yes i had gathered that, but why shout at me, i dont shout at them:curse:

At the end of the working day it was all asians in the operating theatre and the asian surgeon cracks a joke about glasgow and their accents. I asked if i could speak to him at the end of the op and explained i did not appreciate these comments, in comes clinical teacher again, i explained i was going to keep a diary and write down every derogatory remark about the u.k and my accent and sue the hospital, yes i am losing it big time!!!!!!!!!!

I have even looked into some sort of counselling to help me with this issue as its a huge barrier for me at work, !!, i know its something i have to work on, i have tried to look on it as a challenge and goal, but its difficult!!

Last edited by Margaret3; Apr 16th 2008 at 2:01 am.
Old Apr 16th 2008, 2:40 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace