Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Would you move to the UAE for less money ?

Would you move to the UAE for less money ?

Old Apr 24th 2018, 3:11 pm
Just Joined

Grimps is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Would you move to the UAE for less money ?

I’ve always wanted to work and live in the UAE and recently was offered a job in Abu Dhabi which is a lot less money than I’m currently earning.
I work as an engineer in the oil industry and have worked overseas for the last ten years in most of the worlds shit tips , Iraq , Nigeria , Russia (Siberia ) ect , I work a 28 days on 28 days off rotation.

I’ve always had quite a high salary due to the remoteness of some of these locations , I’ve quite a lot of money saved and have several properties I rent out in the UK.
I’m 41 years old and single and have never settled down or been Married , I believe some of the reason for his is most the places I’ve worked there had been a shortage of women ( well that’s my excuse anyway )

I’m hoping that a nice steady nine to give job with the chance of a good social life might be a perfect opportunity to meet someone or at least have a good time.
I’ve been offeered a salary of around £100000 all in with medical insurance my only other Benefit, this will be around £40k less than I’m currently on plus the fact I’ll have to pay my living expenses out of this salary .

The location of my workplace would be not far from Abu Dhabi airport so I was thinking I might actually commute from Dubai marina .

My current workmates think that I’m mad for leaving for less cash but I really think that for 6 months a year my life is a total write off while I’m working on rotation , plus a lot of the time when I’m home on leave I’m sat on the house bored due to the crap british weather and also most of my mates being at work or settled down .
Am I mad to consider this and would Dubai be a good place to let my hair down for a year or two ?