Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

What's it like in Riyadh?

What's it like in Riyadh?

Old Nov 14th 2011, 9:34 am
Forum Regular

londonyvonne has a brilliant futurelondonyvonne has a brilliant futurelondonyvonne has a brilliant futurelondonyvonne has a brilliant futurelondonyvonne has a brilliant futurelondonyvonne has a brilliant futurelondonyvonne has a brilliant future
Default What's it like in Riyadh?

Hello to all the expats in Saudi. I'm a female TEFL teacher (British, 2 university degrees, a CELTA certificate and many years of experience) and have been offered a TEFL job in Riyadh, teaching girls in a school.

The salary is USD 30,000 (GBP 18.000 approx) plus accomodation, visa costs, return flight etc.....is that average? To be honest, I was expecting more.

The contract is from December til the end of term in June, so 6 rather than 12 months. It is renewable, but I prefer a get out option.

The accomodation is in a building, not a compound.....is that good or bad? The room looks OK from photos, but there are no sports facilities, swimming pools or shops, which I read you usually have in a compound.

What is life like there for a single wetern woman? Will it be difficult to get around to buy essentials like food and toiletries?

Is it dangerous? Do you feel at risk from terrorism?

How do you spend your free time? Is there anything to do there?
Old Nov 14th 2011, 9:55 am
BE Forum Addict

Alexa has a reputation beyond reputeAlexa has a reputation beyond reputeAlexa has a reputation beyond reputeAlexa has a reputation beyond reputeAlexa has a reputation beyond reputeAlexa has a reputation beyond reputeAlexa has a reputation beyond reputeAlexa has a reputation beyond reputeAlexa has a reputation beyond reputeAlexa has a reputation beyond reputeAlexa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: What's it like in Riyadh?

To make a long story short...you are pretty much effed if you don't live in a Western compound.