Skype in Dubai

Old Sep 28th 2010, 12:49 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Bill Ryan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Skype in Dubai

Just checking on the Skype situation in Dubai. It seems largely unavailable but has anyone had success using it with a IP Proxy?
Bill Ryan is offline  
Old Sep 28th 2010, 1:13 pm
  #2  
Forum Regular
 
lehoff's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 63
lehoff is a jewel in the roughlehoff is a jewel in the roughlehoff is a jewel in the roughlehoff is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Originally Posted by DubaiWills View Post
Just checking on the Skype situation in Dubai. It seems largely unavailable but has anyone had success using it with a IP Proxy?
Skype can be used in Dubai no problem... you just have to download the software prior to arriving.
lehoff is offline  
Old Sep 28th 2010, 1:19 pm
  #3  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Bill Ryan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Thanks for that - it is something I had heard whispers about.

Is there any way of getting it whilst living there if is not already downloaded onto the computer?
Bill Ryan is offline  
Old Sep 28th 2010, 1:22 pm
  #4  
Forum Regular
 
lehoff's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 63
lehoff is a jewel in the roughlehoff is a jewel in the roughlehoff is a jewel in the roughlehoff is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Not sure about that... i had a tip off before i left the uk and so just downloaded the software beforehand. Im sure if you get hold of a british VPN you could do it but i leave that to a more techie person to comment on.
lehoff is offline  
Old Sep 28th 2010, 1:28 pm
  #5  
BE Forum Addict
 
Oyibopeppeh's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,308
Oyibopeppeh has a reputation beyond reputeOyibopeppeh has a reputation beyond reputeOyibopeppeh has a reputation beyond reputeOyibopeppeh has a reputation beyond reputeOyibopeppeh has a reputation beyond reputeOyibopeppeh has a reputation beyond reputeOyibopeppeh has a reputation beyond reputeOyibopeppeh has a reputation beyond reputeOyibopeppeh has a reputation beyond reputeOyibopeppeh has a reputation beyond reputeOyibopeppeh has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Might be difficult - the VPN which you sign up with often gives you an online link to follow, so if you try doing it through someone else's already VPN'd machine there may be a problem, as it'll want to install on that particular machine.
Oyibopeppeh is offline  
Old Sep 28th 2010, 1:34 pm
  #6  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 160
Bungdit Din is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

If you are on Du, you can access the Skype website, download the software, manage your account (buy Skype credit etc) and make Skype-to-Skype calls without a VPN. You only need a VPN to make Skype-to-phone calls.

It should be the same on Etisalat...
Bungdit Din is offline  
Old Sep 28th 2010, 1:59 pm
  #7  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Bill Ryan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Thanks guys - that is helpful.
Bill Ryan is offline  
Old Sep 28th 2010, 2:49 pm
  #8  
Banned
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 202
twisty100 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Originally Posted by DubaiWills View Post
Thanks for that - it is something I had heard whispers about.

Is there any way of getting it whilst living there if is not already downloaded onto the computer?
Use a vpn, lots about i use www.***************** and also you can watch good ol' british TV on your laptop as well...
twisty100 is offline  
Old Sep 28th 2010, 3:05 pm
  #9  
Big Member
 
NorthernLad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,872
NorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

It has been working fine for us up until Sunday, not been able to get a stable connection since then.
NorthernLad is offline  
Old Sep 29th 2010, 1:45 pm
  #10  
Confirmed grumpy old man
 
Victor Meldrew's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Moved back to Riyadh KSA 2016
Posts: 1,298
Victor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond reputeVictor Meldrew has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

It is possible to download (upload?) it in Dubai. Many of the laptops for sale have them pre-installed.

Ours had to be re-installed last week so we gave it to a pc guru we know who did it for us.

I think if you try it on etisalat, it wont allow you to.

Like a previous poster said, another option is to download it in UK first.
Victor Meldrew is offline  
Old Oct 22nd 2010, 4:26 pm
  #11  
Forum Regular
 
lehoff's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 63
lehoff is a jewel in the roughlehoff is a jewel in the roughlehoff is a jewel in the roughlehoff is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Originally Posted by NorthernLad View Post
It has been working fine for us up until Sunday, not been able to get a stable connection since then.
Is it just me or is anyone elses skype down.............?
NL - did you get your connection back?
lehoff is offline  
Old Oct 23rd 2010, 6:43 am
  #12  
BE Enthusiast
 
CeeBee's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Dubai
Posts: 656
CeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of lightCeeBee is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Originally Posted by lehoff View Post
Is it just me or is anyone elses skype down.............?
NL - did you get your connection back?
Ditto. I keep getting a 'limited connection' which is complete tripe as there's nothing wrong. Only skype.

I think the internet / thought police have done something. Fascists.
CeeBee is offline  
Old Oct 24th 2010, 7:23 am
  #13  
Big Member
 
NorthernLad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,872
NorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond reputeNorthernLad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Originally Posted by lehoff View Post
Is it just me or is anyone elses skype down.............?
NL - did you get your connection back?
It varies, some days it is fine, others it is unusable.
NorthernLad is offline  
Old Oct 25th 2010, 6:52 am
  #14  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 60
GingerWizard is just really niceGingerWizard is just really niceGingerWizard is just really niceGingerWizard is just really niceGingerWizard is just really niceGingerWizard is just really niceGingerWizard is just really niceGingerWizard is just really nice
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

yes I'm in a Du area and the last week its been scrambled - apparently they are testing out new software prior to offering their own paid VOIP - SKype equivilant

VPN is now really the only option
GingerWizard is offline  
Old Oct 25th 2010, 6:56 am
  #15  
Forum Regular
 
lehoff's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 63
lehoff is a jewel in the roughlehoff is a jewel in the roughlehoff is a jewel in the roughlehoff is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Skype in Dubai

Originally Posted by GingerWizard View Post
yes I'm in a Du area and the last week its been scrambled - apparently they are testing out new software prior to offering their own paid VOIP - SKype equivilant

VPN is now really the only option
Hmmm.... you say that but i already run a VPN over the top of my Du network and yet its still scrambled my skype whether im running it or not. Should i be doing something different?
lehoff is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.