British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Middle East (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/)
-   -   Live music in Abu Dhabi (https://britishexpats.com/forum/middle-east-60/live-music-abu-dhabi-646029/)

population Dec 24th 2009 11:49 am

Live music in Abu Dhabi

Hi all

Myself and the wife might be moving to Abu Dhabi in August to teach English for a couple of years and was wondering about live music there.

Essentially I am a semi professsional musician (vocalist/guitarist) doing covers in pubs/nightclubs/private functions etc. I have played in a band here in Dublin for years and also play solo doing acoustic stuff. It has always been a nice sideline to supplement my income and also it is just something I enjoy doing.

Are there any pubs in abu dhabi that have live bands/musicians on? I would assume some of the Irish themed pubs would but I just don't know for sure. Anytime I look it up all I find out is information about DJ's and dance clubs etc.

Any info greatly appreciated:)

Arcadia Dec 26th 2009 3:07 pm

Re: Live music in Abu Dhabi

Theres live Music is The Crowne Plaza Hotel most nights and a lot of the regulars are Irish..this is were they have the St Patricks day ball and most of the Irish events.

There is also Pj o reilleys but I think this mostly DJ music.

If you look at the Irish society in Abu Dhabi website you will see loads of pictures from past events in the crown plaza.

Madam Medusa Dec 26th 2009 4:15 pm

i think there are a quite a few places with live music...heroes for sure, but i've forgotten where that is, although it was a filipiina band...the ad crowd should be able to fill you in more...

MM, xx

commander Dec 27th 2009 4:25 am

PJ's used to have a band playing...

hawkhead Dec 27th 2009 5:46 am

You don't mention what type of music but if it's traditional Irish you could try contacting this lot: http://www.inis-oirr.com/

population Dec 28th 2009 9:54 pm

Cheers to all for the replies