Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Contemplating a potential move to AD

Contemplating a potential move to AD

Old Nov 6th 2011, 2:03 pm
Just Joined

jimbouk is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Contemplating a potential move to AD

Hi all, another noobie here, have read a lot of the forum already apologies if the questions im asking have been asked a million times.

Im married with 2 children considering a move to AD. I work as a professional, and would be moving to a quasi govermental org in Ad. I have just come back from a short flying visit and I need to decide whether to come.

So I could do with some advice please...

whats AD like to bring up kids;
if i move in june/july what are my chances of getting kids (5/7 into a decent school);
i have some questions about the organisation/package but i would prefer to pm someone about them if i have a volunteer!
what should i budget for expenses - in understand housing/school fees will be paid (presumably there are clubs with pools etc for weekends?);
what are the tax implications for me if i move part way through a tax year, i assume i will not pay income tax on sums earned in AD from the date im AD resident?
Is the expat community pretty welcoming etc? whats the best way to make some new contacts outside of work....?

tahnks in advance all!
Old Nov 6th 2011, 2:12 pm
BE Forum Addict

mentalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond reputementalist has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Contemplating a potential move to AD

You work as a professional what?
Old Nov 6th 2011, 2:17 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace