Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Buying a used car from another Expat

Buying a used car from another Expat

Old Feb 19th 2011, 9:45 am
Forum Regular

MikeInOman is a jewel in the roughMikeInOman is a jewel in the roughMikeInOman is a jewel in the roughMikeInOman is a jewel in the rough
Red face Buying a used car from another Expat

Hi,

Another request for advice.

Can you tell me what the process is once i find a car? How quickly can the deal be done.

I am a Dubai resident but currently living and working in Oman month to month. I want to nip up to Dubai and buy a used Discovery and bin my hire car.

Assuming that i have found a car and agreed a price what happens next and how long is it likely to take before i can drive it away as my own, and therefore "south of the border" down to Oman?

Another big ask and i appreciate i am becoming increasingly indebited to you guys on BE.

Thanks

Mike
Old Feb 19th 2011, 9:53 am
Concierge

Blue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond reputeBlue Cat has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Buying a used car from another Expat

couple of hours max, unless the car you are buying has finance on it, that will take a few days to get the clearance letter from the bank
Old Feb 19th 2011, 10:01 am
Forum Regular

MikeInOman is a jewel in the roughMikeInOman is a jewel in the roughMikeInOman is a jewel in the roughMikeInOman is a jewel in the rough

Thanks, as ever BlueCat you are a real help

Any idea on the process? What i have to do in terms of registering and insuring it?

m

Originally Posted by Blue Cat