Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Middle East > ME Job Discussions
Reload this Page >

Saudi job experience... leaving

Saudi job experience... leaving

Old Apr 1st 2011, 9:08 pm
Just Joined

Highoward is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Saudi job experience... leaving

I currently work as a Quantity Surveyor in Saudi (though my background is slightly different). I have currently 2 years experience in UK plus 2 years in Saudi.

My 2-year contract finishes in July when I will leave. I guess anyone gets sick of the country.

Though I am quite tired of the place, I have applied to some local offices in Saudi with no success (they lose their interest completely when I explain them my "expected package" - I just tell them my current one + 5000 SAR per month). Also tried other countries in the region (Kuwait, UAE, Bahrain, Qatar, Oman) with no luck. It seems that because of the (bad) construction job market in most Western countries, competition is rife in the Gulf. A friend of mine in Saudi got a job offer last week for Bahrain (probably some expat left because of the unrest) and the offer was 500 GBP less per month than me... while having 5 years more experience than me!. Whatever. Anyway I am a bit tired of the Gulf inestability. I mean, even if I would be move to, for example, Abu Dhabi (which is much nicer than Riyadh) I would have still the issues of the Visa; you know that anyday your employer can fire you and you gotta leave the country and give up your life. Somehow I prefer more stability and freedom to do what I want.

So here I am. I am planning to leave, and eventually moving back to UK/EU (no visa-hassle) and looking for a job somewhere else, whether there or in any emerging economy.

My concern is how Saudi experience (working for a Saudi company (!)) will be regarded outside. I am pretty scared on that point.