British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   ME Job Discussions (https://britishexpats.com/forum/me-job-discussions-136/)
-   -   I'd like to move to KSA... please advise (https://britishexpats.com/forum/me-job-discussions-136/id-like-move-ksa-please-advise-840230/)

Tahir84 Aug 4th 2014 4:48 pm

I'd like to move to KSA... please advise

Hi All

I am a qualified Mech + Aero Chartered engineer (BEng + MSc ) and have been working in the UK rail industry for last 6.5 years in various positions (started as a Graduate and now a Certification Engineer). I studied in UK.

I am hoping to move to Middle East (preferably Saudi Arabia due to some cultural ties etc.). I have heard middle east has been a good place to work especially for people who are UK euro qualified etc. and possess the post study experience, especially for engineers among others.

I wanted to ask the forum members to guide me as to the best starting place. As you can imagine, i have loads of questions i.e. is it better to apply to a company in Saudi or ME from UK directly or apply to recruitment agencies in the UK who recruit and then send people across. Like i said, loads of questions but i am hopeful that i am at the right place.

Looking forward to your guidance and support.

Thanks in advance.

scot47 Aug 4th 2014 7:37 pm

Re: I'd like to move to KSA... please advise

Rail has been undergoing development in KSA for some time and more expansion is planned. I do not think UK firms have much involvement.

Saudi Railways Organization

You can't just "move to KSA". A visa is tied, through an employer, to a job.

Tahir84 Aug 4th 2014 7:50 pm

Scot47

Thanks, i fully understand that a job is required against which a visa is issued. You mentioned SRO which i have been checking for a long time but no roles available atm. However i know alot of experienced people from UK/Europe have travelled to ME for Rail jobs, unfortunately i lost contact with them.