Reload this Page >

US Citizen looking to Marry Dual UK/Russian Citizen

Wikiposts

US Citizen looking to Marry Dual UK/Russian Citizen

Old Feb 7th 2013, 1:36 am
Just Joined

asdfqwer is an unknown quantity at this point
Question US Citizen looking to Marry Dual UK/Russian Citizen

Ok, so I'm and engineer by trade but trying to figure out all this K-1, H1-B visa stuff is driving me nuts! I prefer things to be simple, not with all these conditions and issues!!!!

Some background
I am a US citizen who went to Uni in the UK and met my girlfriend in uni. She is Russian born, but UK citizen by her mothers 2nd marriage to a UK citizen. She has dual citizenship.

I have graduated from Uni and she is in her final year. I couldn't get a job in the UK but was able to get a fantastic job in the states. She is graduating (MEng in engineering) this year and obviously we would like to be together in the states.

She has been applying like crazy to jobs but I'm well aware of the problems with a company sponsoring someone with little to no experience.

So this comes to my marriage issue....

I've read over the stickies and everything and from what I understand (and please correct me if I'm wrong) we have to apply for a K-1 visa BEFORE we can get married? Then after that its another long process to get her "full papers" to be allowed to live and work in the US? Am I correct in saying this?

OR

Can she simply come visit me and we go get married at a courthouse and then start the rest of the process? What would she legally be at that point once we are legally married? Or is this entire option a no go?

OR

Can she apply for the visa lottery since both her parents were born in Russia? I know this is a long shot but may be worth it?

I know questions like this are frowned upon but can someone please explain to me like I'm 5 years old just what are my options here??

Other info:

I make enough to support her and I should I have to do that.