Unsure about my best immigration option

Wikiposts

Unsure about my best immigration option

Old Jan 29th 2012, 11:07 am
Just Joined

jandk_visa is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Unsure about my best immigration option

Good evening,

I am British citizen in my mid-twenties looking to relocate to the USA to be with my university sweetheart. We met and fell in love while she studied abroad in the UK, and after (far too long) long distance, I am desperate to move to the USA so we can be together long term.

I am currently a business analyst for an IT consultancy, and hold a bachelors degree in a physical science, and masters degree in engineering from two leading universities. I have been attempting to find a job in the consultancy sector in the USA for the past year or so, predominantly through direct applications to large international corporations with operations both sides of the Atlantic, with zero progress – I haven't made it past the initial screening although I am more than qualified.

I found the 'Pulaski's Ways: How to Live and Work in the USA' thread to be very informative (thanks), but I still feel a little daunted by the immigration process and would appreciate some impartial advice on what the best way to approach the situation from people who have been through it before.

Is the K1 marriage visa the best way to go?

Many thanks,

jandk

N.B. I am not sure if this makes a difference, but I spent a summer working in a US research lab a few years ago.
Old Jan 29th 2012, 12:18 pm
SUPER MODERATOR

Jerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond repute