Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > Marriage Based Visas
Reload this Page >

Question about Fiance Visa, fees, etc.

Wikiposts

Question about Fiance Visa, fees, etc.

Old May 18th 2009, 1:22 am
Forum Regular

andiclare is just really niceandiclare is just really niceandiclare is just really niceandiclare is just really niceandiclare is just really niceandiclare is just really niceandiclare is just really niceandiclare is just really nice
Default Question about Fiance Visa, fees, etc.

I'm new to all of this so I'll just introduce our situation and see if anyone can offer any advice or point us in the right direction.

I live in Texas and my fiance is in the UK. He's planning on moving here in Nov. and we are getting married on Nov. 7. Then in early December we're moving to Kansas to be near my family. (We're Catholic and we've already been approved for marriage in the Church and have completed the interview, pre-marriage preperation, etc.)

So...We're wondering the best way to go about this. It seems like the most straightforward way for my fiance to move here would be for me to file a Petition for Alien Fiance and then get a K1 visa for him. I have a couple of questions...

First, does anyone know if the $460+ fee can be waived or lowered possibly? Like, what the requirements are, etc.? We are very poor and have been saving money mostly for his plane ride here and for the move and getting set up in an apt. so we can find jobs once we arrive in Kansas. We are having the smallest, cheapest wedding ever so there are no financial corners to cut as far as the wedding.

My other question is if there is any other feasable way for my fiance to get his green card. For instance, could he come over on a visitor or temporary work visa and then once we get married we apply for a change of status? Or is that illegal?

Thanks so much in advance for any help/advice yall can throw our way!
Old May 18th 2009, 1:48 am
BE Enthusiast